Waverley Borough Council Resolution – 22 July 2020

"This Council opposes a single Surrey-wide Unitary Authority; this Council recognises principles of localism many of which are incompatible with a single unitary authority within Surrey, therefore Council instructs the Executive to urgently investigate alternative forms of Unitary Authorities and the timing of any such reorganisation that may be more advantageous to Waverley and its residents, including any opportunities with neighbouring Councils."

For the Motion: 51

Cllrs Christine Baker, David Beaman, Roger Blishen, Peter Clark, Carole Cockburn, Richard Cole, Martin D'Arcy, Jerome Davidson, Kevin Deanus, Simon Dear, Sally Dickson, Brian Edmonds, Patricia Ellis, David Else, Jenny Else, Jan Floyd-Douglass, Paul Follows, Mary Foryszewski, Maxine Gale, Michael Goodridge, John Gray, Joan Heagin, Val Henry, George Hesse, Daniel Hunt, Jerry Hyman, Peter Isherwood, Jacquie Keen, Robert Knowles, Anna James, Andy MacLeod, Penny Marriott, Peter Marriott, Michaela Martin, Mark Merryweather, Stephen Mulliner, John Neale, Peter Nicholson, Nick Palmer, Julia Potts, Ruth Reed, Paul Rivers, Penny Rivers, John Robini, Anne-Marie Rosoman, Trevor Sadler, Richard Seaborne, Liz Townsend, John Ward, Steve Williams, and George Wilson

Against the Motion: 0

Abstentions: 2

Cllrs Steve Cosser and Peter Martin